I have a small personal website, say


made with Joomla 2.5 (remote installation, that I keep updated regularly, actually to 2.5.19).

It is the third time already in the latest 2-3 months that I recieve the same email from no-reply@joomlahost.it. Written in italian, this email basically says that there is an old version of Joomla (2.5.18) on the domain


I do not know which domain is this, starting with tmp., nor how to have access to its administration.

I had already posted such question on joomla forum in italian language: I was only answered that it was possibly an error, but this happens again.

Do you ever hear about this kind of domain? Any possible explanation or idea about how to deal with it? May not taking care of such emails lead to a lack in security?

I only know and manage to use the url without tmp. in the beginning and I would like to keep it up to date. Thank you.

  • 3
    Have you considered contacting them directly? This does not really seem a Joomla issue. May 2, 2014 at 14:40
  • Try upgradingto 2.5.20 and see if they will send you an email
    – Lodder
    May 2, 2014 at 14:55
  • 1
    If you get a response from joomlafree.it (who I hope you are contacting!), be sure to post back the resolution that you get from them as an answer in case anyone else stumbles on this question! May 3, 2014 at 3:51
  • 1
    @David Fritsch: Done! Let us see what they say. Give you an update in (hope) 48 hours... May 3, 2014 at 13:30
  • @David Fritsch: They answered. A brief email signed by Colt Engine support team explains me that, in order not to recieve such notification anymore, I am advised to delete the whole folder named tmp from public_html folder. I do not know what this tmp (temporary?) folder is for, I will now look into that and consider removing. Hope this may be useful even if the question is on hold. May 5, 2014 at 13:39

1 Answer 1


Try contacting your host, they will know for sure. It may be in a subdirectory of your site or somewhere completely different. Depending on their setup it doesn't even have to belong to you.

Without a real URL where we could have a look, it's almost impossible to say anything at all.

  • 1
    I would add: do a lookup and see if the IP address of the site is one that you recognize.
    – Brian Peat
    May 2, 2014 at 18:44
  • @Bakual: real urls are matteoallegro.joomlafree.it ... and tmp.matteoallegro.joomlafree.it, thank you. May 2, 2014 at 18:56
  • 1
    Hmm, that tmp adress doesn't even resolve. I would forward the email to joomlahost.it and ask them to solve the issue. Looks like something is wrong in their database/script.
    – Bakual
    May 2, 2014 at 21:01

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.